Let’s fly!

Canada Is Officially On Europe’s Latest ‘Safe List’ & Travel Can Resume By July 1

 Helena Hanson 3 hrs agoa screenshot of a cell phone© Chengusf | Dreamstime, Marc Bruxelle | Dreamstime

It looks like Canada has made the cut! The European Union has released a list of countries whose citizens can enter Europe amid the COVID-19 pandemic, and Canada is on the “safe list.” This means Canadians will be able visit 31 different European countries, starting as early as July 1.

On June 30, the European Union revealed their updated “safe list.”

The list details the countries whose citizens will be allowed to enter 31 different European countries, with non-essential travel expected to resume on Wednesday.

While the initial draft included 54 countries, the updated version has just 14, including Canada.

The list was finalized on Tuesday, with further details about possible restrictions and COVID-19 checks expected to be announced later in the day.

This means Canadians will be able to take non-essential trips to many European countries, starting this week. This includes Spain, Greece, Italy and Portugal.

The list also names Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay as “safe” countries.

The United States is not on the list.EU Council Press@EUCouncilPress

.@EUCouncil agrees to start lifting travel restrictions for residents of some third countries

Find out more: https://europa.eu/!nn63CT Find out morewww.consilium.europa.eu327Twitter Ads info and privacy426 people are talking about this

Air Canada and WestJet have already released their summer flight schedules, and planes are already preparing to fly to European destinations. 

While the Government of Canada is still recommending against all non-essential international travel, Canadians will be able to take vacations to Europe as soon as the “safe list” has been officially confirmed.

This means a trip to Europe could be possible from Wednesday!

The list is based on the COVID-19 situation in each country. 

Once the European Union travel agreement comes into effect, the list will be updated every 14 days.

Countries can be added and removed from the list, depending on their handling of the disease.

In the last couple of days, both Air Canada and WestJet confirmed that they would no longer be offering socially-distanced seating on their routes.

The move comes after initially blocking adjacent seats so that all passengers had an empty space next to them.

Leave a Reply